Happy 2016!

I hope you have enjoyed the first few days of the new year! My husband and I spent the South African summer holiday in a small coastal town in the Western Province with family. Today we’re back to work, looking forward to all the adventures that lie ahead this year. We’re moving to the US in just a few months, which means that my South African photography project will soon be coming to a close. The working title has been Pap en Vleis, which is the Afrikaans name for a meal akin to Southern American grits accompanying grilled steak or sausage. “Pap” means “porridge” and “vleis” means “meat.” As much as I’ve enjoyed this working title, while gathering and arranging images at the close of 2015, a more fitting title took over. The project will now be called Learn How to Drive, symbolic of the many challenges and obstacles I’ve faced while figuring out how to navigate my way through an environment quite different from home. I updated the project on my website today with some new images, such as the one above. Go have a look!

Leave a comment